Objective

This article will demonstrate how you can add users to your AutoEntry account and the permissions you can set for them. Each section will go through the following:

  • Adding Users

  • Setting Permissions

  • Account/Company Management

  • Folder Access

  • Copy Function

  • Settings Tab

  • Re-Sending an Invite to a New User

  • Additional Information - Expense Permissions and Permissions Templates

Applies To

  • Any AutoEntry account-holder who is looking to add other users to their account, and have specific permissions allocated to them based on their relationship to you.

Procedure

Introduction

You can add/invite as many users to your AutoEntry account as you wish - there is no extra charge for this! Here are some examples of users you may want to invite:

  • Colleagues in your office that will use AutoEntry

  • Clients of your practice

  • External bookkeepers/accountants (invited by an individual company)

Here is a quick introductory video on the feature which will be explained further below:

Adding users can be done in two ways:

  • Clicking 'All People' to the top right of the screen

  • Clicking the 'People' tab in a particular company or folder

Adding Users

After clicking '+ Add People', enter the person's email address and confirm the account/company you want to add that user to.

Invite to Account - If you have access to multiple billing accounts on AutoEntry, first select the account you wish to add the person to.
Relationship to Account - You can select from Employee (default), Internal/External Accountant or a Client of yours.
Single Company or All Companies - Selecting a single company will only add the user to the company mentioned in the drop-down menu underneath. Selecting All Companies will add the user to all the companies in your account, and will continue adding them to any new companies added to your account (a warning pops up to confirm this when 'All Companies' is selected). You can send multiple invites, one at a time if you wish to add the same user to multiple companies on your account, but not all of them.

Confirm Email sends the invitee a link via email to verify their address and leads them to the AutoEntry sign-in page. Once they set their name and password, they're in!

Setting Permissions

Once the user has been invited, the permissions page will open.

Firstly, here are some things to note:

  • At the top left corner, you can check which user you are setting the permissions for and the company/account you are setting the permissions for.

  • Setting permissions per account will set those permissions for that user for all companies on that account.

  • Permissions for that user cannot be edited on a company level.

  • Leaving the permissions blank at the account level will allow you to edit and tailor the permissions on a company level for that user. 

Account/Company Management

These settings control:
Company Settings - Ability to view/edit the company settings page for a particular company/client at account or company level.
Manage People - Enables the user to add and edit users to the account/company.
Add Companies - Allows the user to add additional companies to the account (account level only).

Folder Access

This section allows you to grant or restrict access to certain folders within AutoEntry. When applied to an account, those settings are applied to all companies on your account. If they are set at an account level, they cannot be edited on a company level. 

View/Edit - Effectively gives full access to the Purchases/Sales/Statements folders so users can view all items uploaded and processed, edit any details of the data and publish to your accounts package.
Upload - Restricts/Allows the ability for a user to upload documents to that folder.

Copy Function

If you are adding/editing multiple users for one or more companies at the same time, you can copy one set of permissions to multiple users across multiple companies.

To do this, simply set the permissions for one user on one company and click Copy Permissions.

You can then select the users you wish to give those permissions to and select the companies you wish to give them access to. This will edit the permissions of all those users selected across all the companies selected to the same level of permission.

Settings Tab

Under the Settings tab at the top, you can also set:

  • The Approvers this user can submit expense reports to

  • Mileage rates they can use

  • Default tracking categories per user

Useful for users from different offices submitting via the mobile app, where they will always be uploading to a particular location/class tracking category!

Re-Sending an Invite to a New User

After adding a new user, they will receive an email automatically a few minutes later, where they will need to click a link that allows them to create their own login. If the invitee already has an AutoEntry account (as a subscriber or already invited to another company), no invite mail is sent out as they are already signed up. They simply log in and the new company is on their homepage automatically.

If your invitee claims not to have seen the invite, you can re-send the invite through AutoEntry. Simply click on the 'View People' section either for the company you invited them to or 'All People' to the top right of the page. Scroll to the invitee on the list to the left and under the Status column you can click to resend the invite:

With the full enforcement of the EU GDPR regulations, we must be able to justify holding data of an invitee or client. For an ongoing customer of AutoEntry, we need your contact details. However, for an invitee that is not a customer nor activates their account, AutoEntry automatically deletes the invite and their details after 30 days.

During this period, AutoEntry sends out 2x automatic reminder emails to sign up before the 30 day deadline. If an invitee still has not signed up, they can be re-invited as often as it takes until they click on the link!

Additional Information

  • Expense permissions are covered in more detail here.

  • To make it a little easier to assign particular sets of permissions to invitees/users, you can save the current selections as a template and apply that template to users as required. For more information on this, please click here.

Did this answer your question?